Tuesday, July 17, 2012

Top 10 Tuesday: If You Like This, Read That

This is a list of suggested reading if you loved the book:

Anne of Green Gables or other books in the series. (Please note: with a few exceptions, these are suggestions for adult readers rather than children.)

1.The Story Girl by L.M. Montgomery. I find this to be one of the lesser known Montgomery works. It may not be to every reader's taste but it is full of memorable characters and stories.

2.Miss Buncle's Book by D.E. Stevenson. Stevenson wrote many light novels. This is one of her first (and one of her best).

3.Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day by Winnifred Watson. A sweet comedy of errors set in 1930's London.

4.The Ark by Margot Benary-Isbert. This would be suitable for an older child. Set in post WW2 Germany, this is a book about how one family survives and grows while waiting for the father to return from the war.

5.Four Graces by D.E. Stevenson. Another Stevenson. I (having four daughters myself) thoroughly enjoyed this one. These Stevenson books were reissued in the '70's (complete with cheesy covers) but they're well worth looking for at your library or used book store.

6.Death at Wentwater Court by Carola Dunn. First in a series. The Daisy Dalrymple series is a series of mysteries set in England after the First World War. Not great literature (the jumps in POV sometimes grate on my nerves), they are nevertheless diverting reads and not too graphic. (In other words, they are decidedly in the "cozy mystery" category.)

7.Emma by Jane Austen. Village life as only Austen can capture it.

8.Enter Mrs. Belchamber by Elizabeth Cadell. One of her most charming: an older, grouchy lady forcibly adopts a man & the three children he is raising.

9.No Holly for Miss Quinn by Miss Read. More English village life.

10.Excellent Women by Barbara Pym. Somewhat in the style of Austen but more than a hint of melancholy. Once again: village life.

This post is linked to Top 10 Tuesday at The Broke and the Bookish.
This post contains Amazon Affiliate links. Action taken with these links could result in compensation for me. Opinions are my own.

No comments:

Post a Comment

I promise to be candid and you can be too. Blogging is best when it's a conversation. Thanks for taking the time to read this post and respond. I enjoy hearing what you have to say.

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.